Posted by: Bruce Duncan | November 15, 2009

Team Helly Hansen – Prunesco Crowned World Champions 2009….

After a gruelling 6 days of racing, with little more than 7hrs sleep, Team Helly Hansen – Prunesco consisting of Nicola Macleod, Nick Gracie, Tom Gibbs and Warren Bates with support crew James Thurlow and Nicola Wiseman were crowned Adventure Racing World Champions 2009. It has been a nail biting time trying to follow the 59 teams progress through the course with both mandatory checkpoints (CP’s) to visit and the “bonus” CP’s thrown into the mix. This made the event even harder for the teams, having to meet the strict cut off times and working out the strategy well in advance. Lack of information from the organisers and faulty GPS tracking devices made following the teams almost impossible on the race website. It was only through the power of Twitter that we could communicate with the teams support crew’s on the ground and other people supporting the event that enabled us to piece together the team’s positions.

On the back of winning the Wenger Patagonian Adventure Race win earlier in the year and now crowned World Champions the recently expanded Helly Hansen – Prunesco team have certainly put this squad firmly onto the Adventure racing map and are already looking forward to 2010.

The 2009 Adventure Race World Champions

2009 Adventure Race World Champions


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: