Posted by: Bruce Duncan | March 10, 2010

Back in Training

This week I have been trying to get back into my normal routine.  I have been away for a long time, so trying to settle back into how I was training before I headed away is hard work.  Traveling all over the country is great fun, but not cindusive to training, so its good to get back into things.

I got home on monday, and went straight out to the monday nights circuit session, this was toughm Barry was away, so Andrew ran a tight session in his place.  My legs were really tired afterwards, but i felt great to be back training with the same crew.  Tuesday morning I headed to the gym for the normal 6am session, but only when i arrived did I get a text informing me it was off!! So home again, where I stayed up and got lots of work done.

The weather has been fantastic recently, and it was brilliant to get out up Lords Seat, right from the door.  I ran with Moss the dog, who is pretty nervous on walks, I had him on the lead, and when I felt he was happy enough, I took him off the lead, and as quick as a flash he was off, straight back to the house at top speed!  I knew he would just head homw, so headed up the hill anyway.  The views were magnificent but the ground was rock hard making running pretty tricky and slippy.

View back to Darling How from Lords Seat

Today I headed out to Patterdale, somewhere I don’t go to very often.  It was stunning over there, quiet at this time of year too, it can be heaving in the summer.  The sun was out and the temperature was perfect for running.  I went for the climb first, it was tough, and my legs were really struggling on the decent.  The flat run round the lake side was much nicer, but my legs were getting tighter and tighter towards the end, i’m glad I have a massage booked for friday.

View to Patterdale across Ullswater

Tonight I got a text about spinning, so thought I had to go.  Again it was a tough session, but great to get back into the swing of things, I also need to get my kit sorted, I forgot my bike shoe didn’t have the cleats on them, and forgot my towel too!

Oh well, I’m getting back into the swing of it, and hopefully next week will be a good hard week of training.  As long as the sun keeps shining I’ll be out running and riding most days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

