Posted by: Bruce Duncan | May 10, 2010

Training Blues – Time to get away and have some fun

I have not been feeling on top form for a wee while now, training doesn’t seem to be having the expected and desired effect, and when I have been out on my bike and running with others i don’t feel super strong at all.

I was meant to be riding in the Fred Whitton this weekend, but decided to skip it, and head to Braemar for a friends wedding, which as expected, was brilliant fun.  It was glorious blazing sunshine up at Mar Lodge, a little on the chilly side with the cool northerly winds, but still great weather.Mar Lodge

Mar Lodge is an awesome venue, a stunning setting, and a really inpressive stags head ballroom, comprising of in the region of 3000 stags antlers on the ceiling.  It is a truely amazing sight as you walk into the room.  The main lodge is equally as impressive, and was a perfect setting for my friends to get married.

The Stags Head Ballroom at Mar Lodge

The Stags Head Ballroom at Mar Lodge

I camped by my car that night, saved the hassle of traveling after the fun, and a lot cheaper too!  The sun was out the next day, despite the over night rain, which meant I got burnt out of the tent early, so one downside to the nice weather.

After a gentle breakfast with friends in Braemar I headed back to Edinburgh, to catch up with my oldest friend who was over from Utrecht in Holland with his band to play a few gigs.  It was great that I was able to meet him and have a great catch up, as I hadn’t seen Tom since his wedding last July.

Tom and Mas from the Deccapods

Tom and Masser from the Deccapods - http://www.myspace.com/deccapods

A relaxed afternoon in town was followed by a tasty curry, then a gig in Whistle Binkies, a place I hadn’t been in for years.  It was a great night, good music, good friends, and a tasty beer.

After staying with another friend in town I set off early back to Keswick.  Just north of Gretna, when the Lakeland hills usually come into view, the hills looked a bit odd.  It wasn’t until I got closer, and really on the A66 from Penrith that I realised why.  The hills were plastered in snow, well the top 1/3 at least!  Its crazy, almost mid May, and its still cold enough for it to snow!  I really hope that it warms up soon and there is no need for long tights and thermal tops anymore!

Another busy week ahead for me, a few meetings, some training, where I hope my legs start to feel better, then off to London and Kent for another great friends wedding.

Leave a Reply

Categories

