Posted by: Bruce Duncan | March 9, 2012

Marathon Running in the Mountains of Scotland

At the top of the Devils Staircase

On Wednesday I was up in the glorious Glencoe.  I had been asked to come up by my good friends Wildfox Events to help them launch their fantastic new event – The Glencoe Marathon.  It is a full 26.2miles from the Red Squirrel campsite to Glen Nevis, via the Devils Staircase, Kinlochleven and the West Highland Way.

With over 1600m of climb it was going to be a tough day out, and with the typical Scottish weather playing its part, sun, snow, hail, rain, wind, it was just going to add to it.

Climbing up Glencoe was stunning, amazing views, and ok weather, the short bursts of snow making me put on and take off my jacket, but it did make the mountains look truly stunning in the twinkling sunshine (when it came out)

David Fox-Pitt was also running, so I had someone to chase (he’d set off 30mins before me) and I got to catch him twice.  It was the media launch for the event, so I had to stop a number of times to get the photos all sorted, but with views like the ones in these shots, it wasn’t a problem to stop and take them in.

The marathon route

4hrs 19mins and 28 seconds later I reached Glen Nevis, it had been a hard run, with some nasty headwinds and heavy snow, but what an amazing awe-inspiring place to run, anytime you felt bad you just had to glance up at the mountains.  I love that part of Scotland, I’d even go as far as saying its one of the most amazing places in the World.

If anyone fancies doing a marathon, and wants a bit of a twist, then get involved, it’s going to be a cracking day out.
The Glencoe Marathon
Wild Fox Events


Facebook
Twitter
More...

Responses

  1. Wow- this is amazing! Pictures are great too. Much more wild and scenic than the half I’m running in flat-Illinois next month! Keep up the good blogs and race reports 🙂

  2. WOW!!!! What an amazing event. I visited Scotland in 2006 and went to Glencoe and Ben Nevis. They are stunning places. I’m seriously jealous 🙂

  3. Scotland sounds incredible – and that Glencoe race is definitely not for the faint hearted… but then again, you did the Art O’Neill challenge back home in Ireland, so you’re well up for the gnarly stuff. Love the blog and enjoy the running!

  4. […] marathon for Wildfox Events, it was a launch of their Glencoe Marathon, I wrote a wee bit about it here. Phil Davies heading to Angle […]

  5. […] marathon for Wildfox Events, it was a launch of their Glencoe Marathon, I wrote a wee bit about it here. Phil Davies heading to Angle […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

